The Ecchizonans

Zoom Meetup

Tierparkzone

Frollywog

Veravey

MagicalRozen

Baldylox

Kendansa

Help a Total Noob: Your preferred supplies?

Kendansa

Some background: I've got a Dollfie Dream girl, I've had her for years.  Her body is secondhand and has some stains, and I just bought a smaller chest for her.  I'd like to re-do the hideous faceup I did when I initially got the head (and perhaps darken her skin tone a shade or two using pastels since I'm scared of dye).  I'm also planning on blushing her body (mostly to give her muscle definition, since she is supposed to be StronkTM).

My question, as a total noob, is...

What tools and supplies do you guys like to use?  I'm talking brands, brush types and sizes, the whole nine yards.  Because if someone just says "small brushes" or "chalk pastels" then I spend three hours standing in the store or browsing the internet and wondering which to get and ultimately getting frustrated and giving up.

Here is what I currently own in my supplies:

• Sprays: Mr Super Clear Flat UV Cut and Zoukei-Mura UV Cut
  • Pastels: General's Chalk Pastels in #4029, #4053, #4051, and #4089; Zoukei-Mura Make Pastels (basic set)
  • A pile of various acrylics designed for miniature painting that probably aren't best suited for dolls
  • Super cheap watercolor pencils that are worthless
  • Tamiya Acrylic Paint Thinner X-20A
  • A set of Army Painter mini-painting brushes

Clearly, my toolset needs some serious work (and perhaps a dedicated toolbox).  So please, suggestions!

Noxxbunny

Used both sprays, I like MSC better for watercolor pencils, I like ZM spray more for my pastels lol. Pastel wise, I was recommended Mungyo soft pastels and I actually really like them. I have both Mungyo and Faber Castell soft pastels, I prefer my Mungyo ones, personally. I've had better experience with them applying with more pigment in less coats.

Not much help for acrylics, I use the Volks ZM Acrylics Make Color set lately.