Frollywog

Veravey

MagicalRozen

Baldylox

Sign in to follow this  
Gabihime

Airbrush suggestions

Gabihime

I’m going to be getting my first airbrush soon, and I wondered what experienced doll customizers are using.  I’ve never had an airbrush before, but I come from a fine arts background, and I’m a very experienced digital artist (20+ years).  I want to use it to paint dolls, toys, and customized figures.  Eventually I’d also like to paint sneakers, but I might actually need a different brush for that, since it’s flood filling instead of fine detail work.

At the moment I am wholly focused on dolls, so I want a brush to be able to do faceups and body blushing.  What airbrushes would you suggest?  I also need to get a compressor, since I don’t currently have one.

BeyondTime

I use an Iwata Custom Micron, and I have used a basic Paasche airbrush. I don’t do doll customization though. 

I figured it might be useful to mention some things about the two airbrushes.

The Iwata can make a very fine line, but this airbrush requires experience at straining and thinning paints. You also need a compressor that allows you to control the air pressure in order to keep it under 18 psi. It’s a very good airbrush, but requires more experience to own and operate. It might not be the best for a beginner airbrush artist. It’s also a very expensive brush.

Iwata is in general a well respected brand, but they’re on the pricier side. They do have a large variety of airbrushes to choose from. 

My Paasche is great for blowing paint onto models in large quantity, but not so good at fine detailing. They sell complete starter kits with all the bits you need to get going, and they are a decent tool for someone new to airbrushing. You can get a basic kit for around $75 bucks. As you are an experienced artist, even as a beginner to airbrushes, you might find you outgrow it quickly.