Veravey

MagicalRozen

Baldylox

Sign in to follow this  
Halcyon

Question - Attaching Eyes /w Low Temp. Glue

Halcyon

Hi folks,

I want Euphie's eyes' set-up to be more "parmanent," so I am thinking about redoing the eyes' set-up. Currently, putty was used. I don't think putty holds well in hot weather, so I want to change it to Volks' glue.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to assembling a Dollfie Dream. And, I have yet to complete a project too. So, I'm thinking... How should I go about attaching eyes to a DD head using Volks' glue gun? What are the ideal tools for this type of work? What should I try to avoid when putting the eyes on (if there exists a situation in the past that made you think "I shouldn't have done that")? I checked the blogs on Sumika, but I'm still a little confused. Any advice on the process would be much appreciated.

Thanks, everyone! Love ya!

-Halcyon

Update 1: Removed 'hot' from the post.

Edited by Guest

DD 娘 - Dollfie Dream® Daughters

{1} : DDS [ユ-ピィ] - Euphie

PlasticFantastic

Actually you'd want to use a low temp glue gun or you'd damage the vinyl...

I have only done putty for the eyes as I find that it works quite well - I make sure that my collection environment is cool so I don't have TOO many worries about heat - heat isn't good for vinyl, it starts to sweat if it's kept in the heat.

If I were to attempt to do glue for eyes I think I would start with a small blob just above the eye or possibly one on the top and bottom, position the eye the way I'd like it, and then do a ring of glue around it. Then repeat for the second. The glue gives you a small window to work with but you can always re-attempt until you get it right.

I have a tutorial up for putty on my site for those interested - it shows the eyes set in glue as well.

DDForum-Signature3.jpg

Please visit my YouTube channel for helpful DD tips, tutorials, and reviews!

h4y4sh1