Tierparkzone

Frollywog

Veravey

MagicalRozen

Baldylox

PrettyCranium

Canon EOS Rebel T3i versus Nikon D5100

PrettyCranium

So, I am an absolute beginner with regards to DSLRs. However, I would like to explore photography as a hobby more seriously (but still just for personal enjoyment). I'm trying to decide on an entry-level DSLR and having some trouble, so I'm turning to you wise folks for help.

I mainly will be using this camera for DD photo shoots and hopefully nature photography (birds, mammals, insects and so on).

I have some money in gift certificates for Amazon.ca, so other suggestions in the $700 range that are available there would also be welcomed.

My main choices right now are the Canon EOS Rebel T3i and the Nikon D5100. On paper, the Canon seems easier to use and has more MP. The reviews I've read seem to be mixed though. Can anyone lend me some insight?

gaiaswill

Go into a store and see which fits your hands better and that you can understand without needing to read a manual. Buy that one.

Actually, do that for every brand you can find in-person - micro 4/3, Sony NEX, Samsung NX, Pentax - and see which one you like. All of these systems are capable of excellent results. That said, if you want "pro" equipment selection and support, you are pretty much stuck with Canon or Nikon.

OtakuDepot

I'm a Nikon shooter so I first should say that any suggestion I make would be pretty biased.

I first wanted to say to not be very worried about megapixels, anything over 7 or 8 really would be fine. The higher number megapixel rating isn't really that important unless you are printing road side billboard signs or something.