Tierparkzone

Frollywog

Veravey

MagicalRozen

Baldylox

SakuraSylph

Lens Advice for Nikon D5100

SakuraSylph

Greetings, photo enthusiasts of the forums! I'd like to request your advice on what lenses I should buy to go along with the new camera I've decided on purchasing.

My background is exclusively point-n-shoot with inexpensive cameras, so I'm learning as I go when it comes to anything more complex than that. My reason for upgrading is that I am tired of having to fix every picture in Photoshop before it's presentable (has my old camera degraded over the years?), and that it's hard to take pictures indoors or at night. After considering various new cameras, I am specifically looking to purchase a Nikon D5100.

Because this is my first camera that has interchangeable lenses, I have no idea what lenses I need to have to go with it in order to get the results I'm looking for. I can buy the D5100 with no lens, or in bundles with various Nikkor brand lenses, but I'm not sure what's going to do the job. I have access to Bic and Yodobashi Camera stores, so finding the equipment should be easy once I know what it is I need to look for.

Here's what I'm looking to do with the camera, primarily:

1) Photograph wildlife, either in a zoo or something like backyard birds in the neighborhood. I imagine this to be both outside in sunlight (most of the time), and occasionally very very low light conditions like nocturnal animal houses.

2) General touristy photographs, like forests, crowds of people, anime con cosplayers, signs. Just like pointing and shooting.

3) Photograph dolls in focus at close range, as well as from several feet away to capture a whole scene. Mostly this requirement will be indoors with normal room (e.g. not great) lighting. It'd be nice to have a lightbox eventually for specific staging, but I'll have to wait for that. This requirement could also include taking pictures of small items to sell on auction sites and the like.