Tierparkzone

Frollywog

Veravey

MagicalRozen

Baldylox

AveragePigeon

Black Gouache Paint?

AveragePigeon

Hi! Might be a dumb question, but will black gouache paint stain a doll? I did very watered down chalk pastels for my DDH-03's eyelashes and brows for her original faceup, but I wanted to darken the lashes somehow, and have seen people use black paint on their dolls. I had also heard some people say it stained their dolls, and that I should avoid red, blue, or black paints or pastels. I know this is probably a complete noob question, but I'm just a bit scared to do it and ruin the faceup!

Not really related, but does anyone know good techniques to do natural size and placement freckles? I haven't done them on her yet, so I just wanted some tips before I began! Thanks!!!

HannGS

As my experience with other BJD's, Gouache paint are water based so they are not as agressive as other kind of paints, but make sure to apply a few MSC layers before using it, just in case. For the freckles you can use a brush going totally handmade, search some pictures for reference, it can be useful ^^

DreamDollDesign

I'm not sure if gouache would stain, but why not use watercolor pencils? You can get bold, dark lines in a layer or two with them! :]

For the freckles, it depends on what kind you're going for. If you want realistic, random, all-over-the-place freckles, you can use the flick method. Use either a paintbrush or toothbrush in thinned acrylic, and either scrape your thumbnail down the toothbrush bristles, or brush the brush bristles over your thumbnail, aiming at the area you want the freckles on. The toothbrush covers a wider area, but in both instances it's difficult to control.

If you want some larger, less random freckles thrown in, just go carefully and make sure to spread them out and vary the sizes.

Mainframe110